MVCC Libraries: Earth Science & Astronomy: Websites

Websites

Based on the Evaluating Websites Criteria, these are some suggested sites made by the MVCC Librarians for Earth Science:

Adirondack Park Geology
Information from the Adirondack Park Agency.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network
Includes searchable and downloadable data, full-text reports, and many links to other earth science sites.
The Geological Society of America
Includes news bulletins, teacher resources, links to other geology sites, and full-text articles from its four publications.
Geology of National Parks
"3D and Photographic Tours Featuring Park Geology and Natural History" from the U.S. Geological Survey
National Climatic Data Center
Large compilation of data on world climate, including the upper atmosphere, satellite images, marine weather, and paleoclimatology.
National Geophysical Data Center
Downloadable data on glaciology, marine geology and geophysics, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, and solid earth geophysics.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Education Page
Includes links to web sites on weather in general as well as on tornados, hurricanes, lightning, droughts, and weather balloons, as well as to the National Ocean Service (NOS) and the National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC).
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A collection of online CIA and historical maps, with worldwide coverage, and including FAQ and links to maps at other web sites.
U.S. Geological Survey
Covers topics in geology and biology
Utica Shale: the Natural Gas Giant Below Marcellus?
From Geology.com.

Website Evaluation

Depending on the purpose of your paper you may use on-line web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are sources to use. Ask yourself the following questions:

Authority
Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor?
Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience?
Coverage
Are the topics covered by the site clear?
Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented?
Accuracy
Are the sources of information stated?
Do the facts appear to be accurate?
Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field?
Currency
Are the dates included in the website?
Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?

Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.