This is the "Print Sources" page of the "MLA Style Citation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MLA Style Citation  

Last Updated: Jun 26, 2012 URL: http://mvcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=64878 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Print Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MLA Style: print sources

Key to using this style guide:

Type of source (relevant section in MLA Handbook 7th edition)

Information included in each citation.

Sample entry

PRINT SOURCES

 

 Book by a Single Author (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.2)

Author. Title. City of publication: Publisher, Publication date. Medium of publication.

Berlage, Gai Ingham.  Women in Baseball: the Forgotten History.  Westport: Greenwood, 1994. Print.

 

Book by 2 or more Authors (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.4)

Authors. Title. City of publication: Publisher, Publication date. Medium of publication.

Eggins, Suzanne, Diana Slade, and Joseph Smith. Casual Conversation.  London: Cassell, 1997. Print.

 

Entry in a Widely-Used Reference Book--Encyclopedia/Dictionary (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.7)

Author (if available). “Title of Entry.” Reference work title. Edition #, if any, and publication date. Medium of publication.

"Azimuthal Equidistant Projection."  Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. 11th  ed. 2003. Print.

 

Entry in a Specialized Encyclopedia/Dictionary (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.7)

Author (if available). “Title of Entry.” Reference work title. Editor, if any. Edition # and Volume #, if any,

          Publication city: Publisher, Year published. Medium of publication.

Allen, Anita L.  "Privacy in Health Care.”  Encyclopedia of Bioethics.  Ed. Stephan G. Post. 3rd ed. Vol. 4. New

           York: Macmillan-Thomson, 2004. Print. 

 

 

Short Story, Poem, Play or Essay in an Anthology (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.6)

Author. “Title of cited work.” Translator, if any. Anthology title. Anthology editor. Publication city: Publisher,

          Year published.  Page #(s). Medium of publication.

Allende, Isabel.  "Toad's Mouth."  Trans. Margaret Sayers Peden.   A Hammock beneath the Mangoes: Stories

           from Latin America.  Ed. Thomas Colchie. New York: Plume, 1992.  83-88. Print.


Scholarly Article Reprinted in a Reference Anthology (MLA 7th ed. 5.5.6, p. 159)
(*covers Gale Literary Criticism series Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, or Poetry Criticism.

Article author. “Article title.” Original Journal Title Volume.Issue # (Year published): page #(s). Rpt. in

          Reference anthology title. Anthology editor(s). Volume. Anthology publication city: Publisher, Year

          published. Page #(s). Medium of publication.

Holladay, Hillary.  "Narrative Space in Ann Petry’s Country Place."  Xavier Review 16.1 (1996): 21-35. Rpt. in

          Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.  Ed. Linda Pavlovski and Scott Darga. Vol. 112. Detroit:  Gale,

          2002.  356-62. Print.

Astro, Richard. "John Steinbeck." Dictionary of Literary Biography: American Novelists, 1910-1945. Ed. James

J. Martine. Vol. 9. Detroit: Gale Research, 1981. 43-68. Print.

Scholarly Journal Article - PRINT version (MLA 7th ed. 5.4.2)

Author. “Article title.” Journal title Volume. Issue, if any (Year published): page #(s). Medium of publication.

Piper, Andrew. "Rethinking the Print Object: Goethe and the  Book of Everything.” PMLA 121.1 (2006): 24-38. Print.

 

Magazine Article - PRINT version (MLA 7th ed. 5.4.6)

Author. “Article title.” Magazine title Date: page #(s). Medium of publication.

Weintraub, Arlene, and Laura Cohen.  "A Thousand-Year Plan for Nuclear Waste."  Business Week  6 May 2002: 

          94-96.  Print.

Kates, Robert W. “Population and Consumption: What We Know, What We Need to Know.” Environment Apr.

          2000: 10-19. Print.

 

Newspaper Article - PRINT version (MLA 7th ed. 5.4.5)

Author (if no author is listed begin with the article title). “Article title.” Newspaper Title [City published, unless

          well-known newspaper] Date: Section and page #(s). Medium of publication.

McKay, Peter A.  "Stocks Feel the Dollar’s Weight."  Wall Street Journal 4 Dec. 2006: C1+. Print.

"Pentagon Charges 2 Detainees."  Observer-Dispatch  [Utica, NY] 25 Feb. 2004: A4. Print.

 

Film Review  - PRINT version (MLA 7th ed. 5.4.7)

Review’s author. “Review title.” Rev. of Film reviewed, Director’s name. Title of the publication the review

          appeared in Date: Page #(s). Medium of publication.

Mendelsohn, Daniel. “September 11 at the Movies.” Rev. of United 93, dir. Paul Greengrass, and World Trade Center, dir. Oliver

             Stone. New York Review of Books 21 Sept. 2006: 43-46. Print.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip