General Reference Web Sites
Search Engines, Subject Directories, and Metacrawlers
Local Information
New York State Thruway Authority -- Look up weather conditions, tolls, distances, traffic incidents, E-ZPass information, scheduled lane closures for construction, and more.
EPodunk: Oneida County -- General statistics on the county plus quick links to addresses, statistics, maps, organizations, and more. Also: Herkimer County ; Madison County.
Oneida County (N.Y.) Government -- Look up information on the
News
Broadcast Media
CNN
MSNBC
YNN/News 10 Now
Podcast Directory -- Search for podcasts by subject category, city, region, language, and more.
WCNY -- Syracuse public TV.
WKTV
WUTR
WTVH
News sites/Search Engines
Yahoo News -- Searches over 23,000 news sources.
Google News -- Searches 4,500 news sources.
Print/online Media
Herkimer Evening Telegram
Mohawk Valley Business Journal
Newspapers from around New York State
New York Times
Oneida Dispatch
Rome Daily Sentinel
Rome Observer
Time
USA Today
Utica Observer-Dispatch
Weather
National Weather Service
Includes the regional forecast and current weather conditions across the state
The Weather Channel
Includes the weather report for Utica, NY and Rome, NY
Ready Reference
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Maps and Subject Guides to Web Sites.
Acronym Finder -- Online dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
All Area Codes.com -- Look up area codes by state or by number; includes the U.S., U.S. territories, and Canada.
AllRefer.com -- Includes a 52,000 entry encyclopedia, biographies of people arranged by subject, a huge health and medical section, a 50,000 entry gazetteer of North America, country studies, and much more.
Almanac Search Page -- From the Information Please Almanac. Look up fast facts about the world, biography, business, society and culture, arts and entertainment and much more.
American Factfinder -- Search the U.S. Census records by topic, place, industry, and race/ethnic group.
Answers.com -- Fast facts taken from 180 reference titles, plus articles written by Answers.comeditors and articles from Wikipedia and WikiAnswers.
AnyWho Directory Telephone Numbers --
Associations on the Net -- The
Background Notes – From the U.S. Department of State; provides information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and more for each country that the
Biography -- A&E's television series, with a searchable database of 15,000 brief sketches from the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia
CIA: The World Factbook -- Provides profiles of the individual nations of the world, with links to maps, flags and more.
Citizendium -- An open wiki project aimed at creating an enormous, free, and authoritative encyclopedia from the founder of Wikipedia.
City Data.com -- Look up all kinds of statistics, many in graphical form, plus pictures and maps, on cities around the U.S.
Country Calling Codes -- Lokk up international country calling codes and time zones.
Credo Reference (online database) -- Includes the full text for the following ready reference works:
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
CIA World Factbook 2012
The Columbia Encyclopedia
The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
The Macmillan Encyclopedia 2003
Philip's Encyclopedia 2008
Philip's World Factbook 2008-2009
U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts
Dead or Alive -- Find out whether a famous person is alive or dead, and what celebrities have birthdays or died on this date.
Digital Librarian -- A large collection of librarian-picked quality web sites arranged by subjects.
Earth Calendar -- Look up the dates of holidays and celebrations around the world. Find out what holidays are being celebrated today.
Electronic Texts (Ebooks) -- A collection of web sites and databases where you can find ebooks.
EmbassyWorld -- Locate web sites for embassies and consulates in countries around the world.
Encyclopedia.com -- Contains over 57,000 frequently updated articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th edition, with links to newspaper and magazine articles, pictures, and maps, as well as over 100 other encyclopedias and dictionaries, via Highbeam Research
Encyclopedia Smithsonian -- Answers to frequently asked question on a wide range of topics, arranged by subject.
EyePlorer -- A graphical dictionary showing not only definitions, but relationships between concepts, plus related web links and images.
50States.com -- Click on the state and find links to facts and statistics.
Guinness World Records -- Searchable portion of records in 8 different categories.
How Stuff Works -- Provides “easy-to-understand explanations of how the world actually works”.
Internet Archive Wayback Machine -- "Provides snapshots--'captures'--in time of how Web sites looked at specific dates and times."
Internet 800 Directory -- Look up toll-free telephone numbers.
Internet Public Library -- Includes web sites on specific subjects; almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, blogs, literary criticism and more. Includes an excellent collection of Pathfinders (guides for researching specific topics)
Kelley Blue Book -- Provides pricing for new cars, used car value, motorcycle information, automotive advice, and more.
Libweb: Library Servers via WWW -- Links to 7,900 Library web pages from Libraries in 146 countries.
Mapping the U.S. Census -- Outstanding interactive maps with statistics from The New York Times.
Maps on the Web -- Collection of links to all types of maps online, from the Dudley Knox Library, Naval Postgraduate School.
New York Statistical Yearbook -- Statistical information on New York State economics, elections, demographics, public safety, housing, education, health, energy, government finance, and more, presented by the Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook -- From the US Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics; lists the following: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, working conditions.
OneLook Dictionary -- Includes 13,587,880 words in 1024 dictionaries indexed; with a reverse dictionary.
Search Engines, Subject Directories and Metacrawlers
The Skeptic's Dictionary -- Full of articles on the occult, pseudoscience, cryptozoology, ufology, and other topics in popular culture.
Snopes.com -- Heard an outrageous story or rumor? Check here to find out if it's true--or an urban legend.
Statistical Abstract -- Provides an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library -- Search digitized U.S. government technical reports published primarily before 1975.
The Universal Currency Converter -- Find out how much a certain amount of money is worth in another country’s currency.
U.S. College Search -- Find American colleges by name, state, zip code, program, or online courses.
USPS Zip Code Lookup -- Search for a zip code by address, city, company.
Virtual Reference Shelf -- Selected web resources compiled by the Library of Congress arranged in subject categories.
Visuwords -- Look up words in this online graphical dictionary and thesaurus to find their meanings and associations with other words and concepts.
WebExhibits -- An interactive museum of science, humanities, and culture.
The World Clock: Time Zones -- Find out what time it is in places around the world.
Your Dictionary.com -- A collection of on-line dictionaries in 240 different languages, with over 20 multi-lingual dictionaries, 86 specialty (special subject) dictionaries, thesauri, and rhyming, acronym, synonym, antonym, pronouncing, and other English language dictionaries.
Librarian Profile |
Contact Info Mohawk Valley Community College Library 1101 Sherman Drive Utica, NY 13501 315-792-5339 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Mohawk Valley Community College Library 1101 Sherman Drive Utica, NY 13501 315-731-5735 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
My Profile |
Contact Info Mohawk Valley Community College Library 1101 Sherman Drive Utica, NY 13501 315-731-5737 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
The MVCC Libraries are on Facebook! Visit us for announcements, events, new acquisitions, and more.



Loading...
