Instructions
What is a peer-reviewed article?
A journal article that is peer-reviewed has been evaluated by the author’s peers, or experts in his or her academic field, for methodology, accuracy, objectivity, and overall unique contribution to research in the field. Another term for peer-reviewed is refereed.
Peer reviewed, scholarly, academic, refereed=quality sources for your paper!
How to find peer-reviewed articles in specific databases:
1) ProQuest Criminal Justice (through ProQuest):
Click in the “Peer-reviewed” box on the search screen before starting your search.
2) EBSCOHost databases:
For the following databases accessed through EBSCOHost at the advanced search screen click in the
“Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” or the “peer reviewed” box before starting your search.
Applied Science and Technology with Full Text
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Health Source—Consumer Edition
Health Source—Nursing/Academic Edition
Humanities International Complete
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Military and Government Collection
MLA International Bibliography
Professional Development Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Vocational and Career Collection
3) Gale databases:
For the following databases accessed through Gale Cengage at the advanced search screen
click in the “to refereed publications” or the “peer-reviewed publications” box before starting your
search.
Business, Economics and Theory Collection
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Issues Collection
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection
Insurance and Liability Collection
Military Intelligence Collection
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection
4) The following databases contain only peer-reviewed, scholarly journals.
CQ Researcher Online (through Congressional Quarterly)
Literature Criticism Online (through Gale)
MedLine (through EBSCO)
Science Direct (through Elsevier)
5) The following databases clearly indicate academic journals as opposed to magazines and newspapers
when they present their search results by grouping them together all in one place:
6) The following databases DO NOT distinguish between magazines and scholarly journals; you must
look up the titles in the reference books listed below or ask a librarian:
Points of View Reference Center
If you have question as to whether a journal is peer-reviewed or not, you may consult either:
Magazines for Libraries (Ready Ref Z 6941 .M23 2012) OR
Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory (Ref Z 6941 .U5 2007)
Ask for help at the Information Desk if you experience any problems.
Librarian Profile |
Contact Info Mohawk Valley Community College Library 1101 Sherman Drive Utica, NY 13501 315-792-5339 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
The MVCC Libraries are on Facebook! Visit us for announcements, events, new acquisitions, and more.


Loading...
