MVCC Libraries: United States History: Books & Media

Browse the Stacks

If you would like to browse our stacks below is a list of call numbers to search by:

E186-199 - U.S., Colonial History

E 201-298 - U.S., The Revolution

E 300-453 - U.S., Revolution to Civil War

E 456-655 - U.S., Civil War Period

E 660-738 - U.S., Late Nineteenth Century

E 740-837.7 - U.S., Twentieth Century

E 838-889 - U.S., Later Twentieth Century

E 895-904 - United States, Twenty-First Century

Can't find it on campus or online? Use our Interlibrary Loan Service!

Primary Source Collections (Jackdaws)
The library has over 50 folders about various topics in US and World history. These folders, called Jackdaws, contain reproductions of key primary-source documents about each topic. Ask for them at the Utica Campus Reference Desk.

If you cannot find what you are looking for in the MVCC Catalog, you can search other libraries using the links below:

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories which participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative. It is built and maintained collectively by the participating libraries.

Click on the subject terms below to be linked to a list of books in the library.

United States History	Iraq War
Vietnam War	American Revolution
Depressions -- 1929	United States - Social Conditions - 1933-1945
September 11th, 2001	United States Politics and Government
United States Civil War	United States Foreign Relations
United States - Social Conditions	Civil Rights Movement

American Yawp The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. Unchecked by profit motives or business models, and free from for-profit educational organizations, The American Yawp is by scholars, for scholars. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms. Primary sources are included in each section.
CREDO: U.S. History (library resource)
CREDO is a subscription database available for free to MVCC faculty and students. Log-in with MVCC credentials is required for off-campus use. Each article has an embed code available for Blackboard integration.
History Commons
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877
This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history.
Khan Academy - U.S. History
Lumen Learning: U.S. History I
Lumen Learning: US History II
OpenStax U.S. History textbook

These resources will allow you to search or view videos on United States History:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is our Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning.

Sample database video - Just the Facts: Documents of Destiny
Much of the history and development of the Unites States is tied to key documents that were drafted hundreds of years ago.
more...less...
This program takes a look at some of those documents, the pivotal moments in history that spurred their creation, and the roles those documents have played in the growth of the United States. Beginning with a brief introduction to American democracy and its connection to historical national documents, this program takes a more-detailed look at the Articles of Confederation, the Federalist Papers, the Bill of Rights, and how the founders of the United States imagined American politics.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Extensive collection of eBook titles. Hundreds of thousands of titles available across all major subject areas. PLEASE MAKE SURE TO USE GOOGLE CHROME AS YOUR BROWSER.