MVCC Libraries: Sociology: Finding Articles

MVCC Library's Discovery Service

This box searches most of the library's resources: books, DVDs, streaming video, and articles from databases. It is a great place to start searching.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great place to find scholarly articles. Increasing amounts of peer-reviewed research is being made freely available through Open Access journals. However, if you find an article through Google Scholar where the full text is not available for free, ask a librarian! We can get you free access to the article through our databases or interlibrary loan.

Subject-Specific Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This resource offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Users will find timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
EBSCO eBooks Diversity and Ethnic Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more.
Pop Culture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of topics in the fields of psychology and behavioral sciences.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection also includes scholarly articles, periodicals, a bibliography and external links.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.

Keywords

For best results while searching library databases or the catalog, remember to use only key words, rather than full sentences or phrases. Here is a sample of search terms:

Community	Rural Sociology
Social Change	Social Conflict
Social Groups	Social History
Social Systems	Society
Sociology	Urban Sociology

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Articles

Identify Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals
by Jocelyn Ireland Last Updated Mar 3, 2021 56 views this year

Sociology: Finding Articles

Database Searching Tips

MVCC Library's Discovery Service

Google Scholar

Subject-Specific Databases

Keywords

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Articles