MVCC Libraries: English Courses: D. Nackley

Instructor's Handout

D. Nackley - Research Paper Assignment

Make sure you include the following in your paper:

Biographical information on your artist
Background on the country origin & time period the artist lived in
Medium that the artist works in
Major works
Themes found in major works
Examples of artwork
What his/her artwork is in reaction too
Why you chose this particular artist

Electronic Resources (Databases)

Use the tabs to find databases that will allow you to search for peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles for your assignment.

Remember that if you are using these databases Off-Campus, that you will need to enter in your Username and Password (the same as you would use for Blackboard and Email).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Scholarly Journal Archive) is an online archive of core scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Developed through a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
With hundreds of full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

U.S. History Collection (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Includes a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images.

***In order to save a picture in ARTstor, you must create an account. This is free and it MUST BE DONE on CAMPUS.***

Your Librarian

Jocelyn Ireland

Instructional Design Librarian

315-792-5372

jireland@mvcc.edu