MVCC Libraries: English Courses: K. Raab

Handouts

Electronic Resources (Databases)

It is important when you begin a research project to get a solid overview of the topic. Encyclopedias are a perfect resource to obtain a comprehensive summary of information about a subject. Getting a solid grasp of a topic will help you formulate effective research questions, gather related search terms, and narrow your focus.

CREDO Reference
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Academic Search Complete
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study.
Academic OneFile
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Multidisciplinary resources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection
Extensive collection of eBook titles. Hundreds of thousands of titles available across all major subject areas. PLEASE MAKE SURE TO USE GOOGLE CHROME AS YOUR BROWSER.

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This comprehensive resource provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of topics in the fields of psychology and behavioral sciences.

Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.