MVCC Libraries: English Courses: BOCES

Databases

CREDO Reference
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

EBSCO eBooks Academic Collection
Extensive collection of eBook titles. Hundreds of thousands of titles available across all major subject areas. PLEASE MAKE SURE TO USE GOOGLE CHROME AS YOUR BROWSER.
Academic Search Complete
This database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study.
Academic OneFile
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Multidisciplinary resources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is our Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Kanopy
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning.

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
HeinOnline’s Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.

National Special Interest Groups by issue
From VoteSmart.org: '...reports on performance evaluations from all special interest groups (SIGs) who provide them, regardless of issue or bias. ...'
Political advocacy groups
From Professor Paul Frank at Sacramento City College - organized by subject

OWL Purdue
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material. It's a great place to go to look up standard writing practices and for tricky citation situations.