MVCC Libraries: Research the Birthday Project: Newspaper Articles

The library's newspaper resources cover different date ranges. Find the box below that covers the year you were born to see what resources are available to you.

Born 2002 or later

Utica OD - Text Edition (2002 - current) This link opens in a new window
This resource gives to access to a text version of the Utica Observer-Dispatch, going back to 2002.

Syracuse Post-Standard
Our access to the Syracuse Post-Standard through the Newsbank database covers 1986 through today. Text only, no images.
Albany Times-Union
Our access to the Albany Times-Union through the Newsbank database covers 1986 through today.
New York Times Archive
The New York Times Article Archive contains articles dating back to 1851, which can be accessed through archive search. Articles from 1851-1980 are available either in full-text or partial articles. Full-text versions are available for all articles published after 1980.
Full-text archive articles include the entire text of an article. Partial articles include an excerpt of the article and a link to TimesMachine where subscribers can view the entire article in its original form.
The New York Times Article Archive is accessible to everyone. Articles from 1851-1922, 1964 and 1987-today do count toward non-subscribers’ limited article views.

MVCC students and staff can go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ to create a free NYT account.

Born between 1986 and 2001

Available Online:

Syracuse Post-Standard
Our access to the Syracuse Post-Standard through the Newsbank database covers 1986 through today. Text only, no images.
Albany Times-Union
Our access to the Albany Times-Union through the Newsbank database covers 1986 through today.
New York Times' TimesMachine
The TimesMachine includes scans of complete editions of the New York Times from 1881 to 2002. MVCC students and staff get free online access to the New York Times after creating an account here: http://mvcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir
Use the Index in the top left corner to look for articles about New York State in any edition.
New York Times Archive
The New York Times Article Archive contains articles dating back to 1851, which can be accessed through archive search. Articles from 1851-1980 are available either in full-text or partial articles. Full-text versions are available for all articles published after 1980.
Full-text archive articles include the entire text of an article. Partial articles include an excerpt of the article and a link to TimesMachine where subscribers can view the entire article in its original form.
The New York Times Article Archive is accessible to everyone. Articles from 1851-1922, 1964 and 1987-today do count toward non-subscribers’ limited article views.

Born 1985 or earlier

Available Online:

New York Times' TimesMachine
The TimesMachine includes scans of complete editions of the New York Times from 1881 to 2002. MVCC students and staff get free online access to the New York Times after creating an account here: http://mvcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir
Use the Index in the top left corner to look for articles about New York State in any edition.
New York Times Archive
The New York Times Article Archive contains articles dating back to 1851, which can be accessed through archive search. Articles from 1851-1980 are available either in full-text or partial articles. Full-text versions are available for all articles published after 1980.
Full-text archive articles include the entire text of an article. Partial articles include an excerpt of the article and a link to TimesMachine where subscribers can view the entire article in its original form.
The New York Times Article Archive is accessible to everyone. Articles from 1851-1922, 1964 and 1987-today do count toward non-subscribers’ limited article views.

Available at area public libraries (MVCC does not have):

Utica Observer-Dispatch on microfilm at the Utica Public Library

Microfilm must be viewed inside the public library on special equipment. UPL is located at 303 Genesee St, Utica, NY 13501. Contact them at 315-735-2279.

Rome Daily Sentinel on microfilm at the Jervis Public Library

Microfilm must be viewed inside the library on special equipment. Jervis Public Library is located at 613 N Washington St, Rome, NY 13440. Contact them at (315) 336-4570.