MVCC Library Archives Finding Aid: MVCC Library and Library Staff Series

MVCC Library and Library Staff Series

Cabinet B, Drawer 1

The current libraries at MVCC have the primary focus and function to support the teaching, learning and recreational interests of the College community as well as to promote information literacy.

Handwritten labels on the papers for distribution include the names of Marjorie Thorpe, Willard Sauter, Alice Griffith, and the groupings of MVTI General and Miscellaneous, and Library. Also included is correspondence from Helen Gaffney.

Subseries Title

Scope and content

Notes

“Index maps”

(1974-1977) Geological surveys – states, order forms

“Library Notes”

(1955-1967, 1977-1980) Publications

Imposed chronological arrangement; Includes “The Living Library” 1979-1980

“Library Bulletin”

(1962-67) Publications

Includes acquisitions and gifts

Subject-specific bibliographies

(1949-1954)

(1975, 1978-1979)

(1977-1980)

Bibliographies pertaining to specific subjects or courses, including but not limited to “Store Layout and Fixtures,” “Mohawk Valley History,” “Lofting practice,” “Retail,” “Metallurgy,” and “The Roedel Collection of Circus Books”;

“Professional Bookshelf,” 1975, 1978-1979
“New on the Shelf,” 1977-1980  
 

Library staff files

(1957, 1959, 1960-1968, 1977, 1982) Publications

Handwritten names on sheets include “Miss Thorpe,” “Miss Kane,” “Miss Bates,” “Ms. Griffith,” “Library Committee,” and “Library”; materials include, but are not limited to, mimeograph inksheets, “Bibliokleptomania” article, “Student Library Handbook” Sept. 1963 and 1957, “Limericks for a Librarian,” “M.V.T.I. style sheet for written work,” memos and regarding dedication of new campus and open house, exchange lists, bibliographies.

Helen Gaffney Papers

(1956)

Correspondence

Marjorie Thorpe Papers 

(1962-1967) Publications

Publications similar to “Library staff files”; sampling of materials include photos, “State University Two-Year College Libraries” bulletin, Middles States case studies, newspaper clipping, Annual Report – Financial Aid Office (1965-66), Academic Profile 1966, Academic dismissal [see also Office of Records and Registration Series]

Willard Sauter Papers

(1953,1954, 1974) Publications

MVTI Bureau of Field Services, MVTI Department of Retail Business Management clinics

Envelope folder 1

(1948-1963) Publications

(Randomly chose five items to list in notes)

Script for TV program at Faculty Conference, Sept. 1950; MVTI Style Sheet for Written Work; “Housemother, Student Agreement”;  “Pep for Tech” Student Rally: Make Utica Tech Permanent” 3/18/1953; Enrollment summary 1956

Envelope folder 2

(1954-1984, bulk 1963-1966) Publications

(Randomly chose five items to list in notes)

Student government council minutes, ca.1962-65;
“Distribution of grades for the academic year” 1963-64, Summer 64, 1958-59; By-laws of the faculty, 1964; Schedule of maximum travel reimbursement, 1963; Memo regarding Rudolph Wedow’s 1964 exhibition of 40 print drawings while serving as combat engineer during WWII

Envelope folder 3

(1947-1976, bulk ca 1955-1965) Publications

(Randomly chose five items to list in notes) 1976 Co-op placement; “Fourth Annual Science Seminar of MV Science Teachers Association,” May 1, 1964; “College Facilities and Hell Week,” 1963;
“Guidelines for Written communications” by students March 5, 1948; Food service price schedule, 08/1965

Envelope folder 4

(1960-1969) Publications

(Randomly chose five items to list in notes) Cultural Committee, Al Capp, speaker; Early Admissions Program, 1962; Instructions for inauguration of President W. Stewart Tosh; “Regional Conference, Curriculum Study Representatives, MVTI : 03/30/1962”; Publications and surveys for Evening Division