MVCC Libraries: Find Primary and Secondary Sources: Finding Primary Sources in Online Databases

Keywords

When searching in a journal database that does not provide you with the option to select "primary source documents," use the following keywords in combination with your subject:

autobiography	letters
correspondence	memoir
diary	oral history
documentary history	report
interviews	speeches

Finding Primary Sources in Online Databases

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
AAS is the most comprehensive set of periodicals in the world published between 1691 and 1877. Primary source documents - including letters, speeches, conferences, proclamations, voting extracts, and more.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Includes a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images.
Newsbank: America's Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government,local companies and people. Includes the Utica Observer Dispatch.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.