MVCC Libraries: Surgical Technology: Finding Articles

Search the Library Collection for Articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This authoritative database provides full text for journals indexed in MEDLINE, most of which include cover-to-cover indexing. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library is an eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 1,400 journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Here is a sample of search terms:

disinfection
medical devices
operating room equipment
preoperative
standard precautions
sterilization
surgical technologies