Library and Information Literacy Instruction Learning Outcomes
The teaching librarian will work with the class instructor to identify learning objectives for each session. Below are common learning objectives for library and information literacy instruction sessions. Not every learning objective will be addressed in an individual session.
Students will be able to...
Library space and services
- Give examples of library services, as well as physical and virtual resources
- Describe how library resources and staff can support their academic success
Research strategies
- Articulate the steps of the research process
- Construct a search statement using topic-relevant vocabulary in order to search databases with maximum effectiveness
- Use search techniques such as boolean operators or truncation to modify a search statement
- Modify their search strategy based on an evaluation of results
Library research tools
- Locate the library website, research guides, and databases
- Distinguish between general and specialized databases in order to select the most appropriate database and maximize relevancy
- Explain the advantages of using library resources over researching solely on the open Web
- Use search limiters such as full-text, date range, and peer-reviewed
- Identify database tools such as print, cite, annotate, download, email, and text-to-speech
- Identify parts of a database record such as full-text options, abstract, and publication information
Finding sources and evaluating results
- Differentiate between scholarly, popular, and trade publications
- Articulate the purpose and distinguishing characteristics of different types of information sources
- Define primary and secondary sources and identifying characteristics of each
- Effectively use advanced search features of Google and Google Scholar
- Evaluate online sources using the SIFT Method
- Determine the usefulness of resources based on information need
Information ethics
- Summarize why it is important to acknowledge other people's work and ideas
- Recognize when documentation of sources is necessary
- Demonstrate appropriate citation practices
- Locate at least one support tool or resource for generating citations
